Film & Television Awards Season and subtitles

Awards season for the film and television industries has started already.Last week was the Golden Globes during which a rather rambling speech from Jodie Foster in which she came out received a fair amount of media coverage. Here’s the real transcript For Funny Or Die’s truncated Foster’s speech:

Robert [Downey Jr], I want to thank you for everything: for your bat-crazed, rapid-fire brain, the sweet intro. I love you and Susan and tonight I feel like the prom queen. Thank you. Looking at all those clips, you know, the hairdos and the freaky platform shoes, it’s like a home-movie nightmare that just won’t end, and I guess I have a sudden urge to say something that I’ve never really been able to air in public. So, a declaration that I’m a little nervous about but maybe not quite as nervous as my publicist right now, huh Jennifer? But I’m just going to put it out there, right? Loud and proud, right? So I’m going to need your support on this. I am single. Yes I am, I am single. No, I’m kidding — but I mean I’m not really kidding, but I’m kind of kidding. I mean, thank you for the enthusiasm. Can I get a wolf whistle or something? Jesus. Seriously, I hope you’re not disappointed that there won’t be a big coming-out speech tonight because I already did my coming out about a thousand years ago …. if you’d had to fight for a life that felt real and honest and normal against all odds, then maybe you too might value privacy above all else. Privacy. Some day, in the future, people will look back and remember how beautiful it once was. I have given everything up there from the time that I was three years old…There are a few secrets to keeping your psyche intact over such a long career. The first, love people and stay beside them. That table over there, 222, way out in Idaho, Paris, Stockholm and of course, Mel Gibson. You know you save me too. There is no way I could ever stand here without acknowledging one of the deepest loves of my life, my heroic co-parent, my ex-partner in love but righteous soul sister in life, my confessor, ski buddy, consigliere, most beloved BFF of 20 years, Cydney Bernard. …Well, I may never be up on this stage again, on any stage for that matter. Change, you gotta love it. …I want to be seen, to be understood deeply and to be not so very lonely. Thank you, all of you, for the company. Here’s to the next 50 years.

Now watch the speech with Funny Or Die’s amusing ‘translation subtitles’ by clicking on the link below:

For a more serious analysis of the speech, read this article.

Sticking to serious but still on the topic of subtitles and the awards season, there was an interesting article published by The Observer claiming that the nomination of ‘Best Picture’ for Austrian film Amour indicates a growing acceptability into the mainstream for subtitled films:

Academy voters appear to be hinting at a new openness to other cultures and the growing acceptability of subtitled entertainment. “It really is unusual for a foreign language film to do this well and to be nominated in two other main categories too, for best adapted screenplay and best director,” said Charles Gant, film editor of Heat magazine.

Not since Clint Eastwood’s Letters from Iwo Jima, shot almost entirely in Japanese, was nominated in 2007 and Ang Lee’s action-packed Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon in 2001 has a work in another language stood as an equal next to the best of English language cinematic storytelling.

Audiences in Britain in particular are responding to the growing accessibility of high-quality foreign films, which are easier to access at home now.

Critically rated television shows such as the French series Spiral, Hatufim – the Israeli show Homeland is based on – the Sicilian Inspector Montalbano, and BBC Four’s smorgasbord of Scandinavian shows, The Killing, The Bridge and Borgen, have allowed British audiences to appreciate foreign entertainment. Home delivery services such as Love Film, Apple TV’s iTunes, Netflix and Curzon On Demand mean that viewers can download and stream new and classic foreign titles on a whim, rather than seeking out a DVD. “There was previously a real access problem for this kind of film,” recalls Gant. “There was a short run at your local cinema, and that was your only chance.”

Changes in technology have helped at the cinema as well as at home, Gant said. “Digital projection now means cinema programmers have a lot more flexibility. They don’t just have to run a film for a week now. And with Curzon on Demand they are actually offering people the chance to see foreign films at home on the day of release.”…..Gant suspects the increasing use of computers and phones for social media means that resistance to reading type while relaxing has disappeared, making subtitles less frightening.

SOURCE: The Observer

On a related note, be sure to read Lipreading Mom’s blog post on her reports of watching Best Picture Academy Award nominee’s in US cinemas in captioned performances with various technology options on offer:

Lipreading Mom's Nominees for Best Captioned Oscar Movie Are….

