FRUSTRATED DEAF CITIZEN (via SayWhatClub)

The other morning I ran across a Yahoo news link: http://in.news.yahoo.com/video/tech-15749651/sign-language-opens-music-world-to-deaf-citizens-23928113.html I clicked on the link and it took me to a video with the headline, “Sign Language Opens Music World to the Deaf Citizens, Sat, Jan 22 7:31 AM IST – ABC News 3:08 | 652 views, Person of the Week Allyson Townsend uses YouTube to reach deaf audience.”  I waited as the video loaded, was patient … Read More

via SayWhatClub

^ As a sort of follow up to my previous post on music concert DVDs, I wanted to reblog this post from another WordPress blog author to readers. By sharing this I do not wish to create a debate about sign language vs captioning – I think that people should have the choice of either. Just recently reports have suggested that Lady Ga Ga is to learn sign language to perhaps one day use on her live tours for deaf fans. I am assuming that would be ASL. I think it is a great idea, but I’d love if also, if one day in the same way that theatre’s are now captioning plays and musicals, why not extent that to music concerts? Has anyone ever been to one?

